The Two Week Wait by Sarah Rayner

by Amy Pirt

Two women. One gay and single, one straight and married. So far, so different. But they both have one major thing in common: they both want a baby.

I finished reading The Two Week Wait yesterday in Starbucks Piccadilly and I had to try desperately hard not to sob into my over-sugared venti latte. Unlike my coffee, this is not a froth-filled novel. Rayner is not afraid to tackle controversial topics; in One Moment, One Moment, it was bereavement and sexuality, in The Two Week Wait, it is infertility.

Lou is in her thirties and has been told to have a child before it is too late. Her girlfriend Sofia, however, is not altogether keen on the idea. Should she forget about having a child or go it alone?

In another town in England, cancer sufferer Cath has just been given the all-clear. In her early forties, it would be hard enough to conceive naturally, never mind the fact that her ovaries had to be removed.

Could Cath and Lou help each other? Will they both be able to conceive? And if not, can they imagine a future without children?

What I really loved about this novel was that Rayner has really done her research into IVF and other similar treatments. For example, I had no idea that such a scheme as egg sharing existed, nor did I know about ICSI ( intra-cytoplasmic sperm injection).

I also enjoyed meeting One Moment, One Morning’s characters once again. It was reassuring to see Anna move on from Steve, Karen rebuild her life after losing Simon, and Irene, Lou’s mum, welcome Lou’s pregnancy. What’s also great is that while One Moment, One Morning is a fantastic read, The Two Week Wait is a stand alone novel, which you can read without any prior knowledge of these characters.

So trot along to your nearest Waterstones and pick up a copy of The Two Week Wait. I guarantee that, like me, it will have you sobbing into your caffeinated drink of choice.

